AFCON 2023 has concluded, leaving the Ivorians jubilant as they secured their third AFCON title at the expense of the Super Eagles of Nigeria. The tournament showcased numerous positives, notably the officiating, which raised questions about the standards in Europe.


While acknowledging that officiating may not be flawless, there were minimal complaints from the teams. Players conducted themselves admirably, with several showcasing their talents and garnering attention.

Here is the AFCON 2023 Team of the Tournament:

Get Instantly Update By:  Joining Our Whatapps and Telegram Channel 


Gossipinfo Advert
Are You Having Any Health Issue? Mukadam Herbals Provide Instant Solution



1. Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea): The captain and striker surprised many, leading his team to the round of 16 and emerging as the top scorer with five goals.

2. Gelson Dala (Angola): Part of a deadly partnership, he scored four goals, helping Angola reach the quarter-finals for the first time.

3. Simon Adingra (Ivory Coast): An influential force for the Ivory Coast, he created key opportunities and won the Young Player of the Tournament award.

4. Franck Kessie (Ivory Coast): A rejuvenated force in the knockout stages, Kessie scored two goals and played a crucial role in the Ivorian victories.

5. Teboho Mokoena (South Africa): The engine room for Bafana Bafana, Mokoena scored two goals and played a vital role in the team’s success.

6. Frank Onyeka (Nigeria): A dominant force for the Super Eagles, Onyeka contributed to some of the best defensive performances, helping keep four clean sheets.

7. Calvin Bassey (Nigeria): Operating in a back-three, Bassey provided solid defensive displays and contributed to the team’s success.

8. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco): Despite Morocco’s early exit, Hakimi showcased both defensive and offensive prowess, scoring a goal.

9. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria): A top-scoring defender with three goals, Troost-Ekong led the Super Eagles with distinction and earned the Most Valuable Player award.

10. Mothobi Mvala (South Africa): A solid presence at the back for Bafana Bafana, Mvala played a key role in the team’s five clean sheets.

11. Ronwen Williams (South Africa): The standout goalkeeper of the tournament, Williams kept five clean sheets and earned the Goalkeeper of the Tournament award.

Honorable mentions: Stanley Nwabali (Nigeria), Grant Kekana (South Africa), Ounahi (Morocco), Ghislain Konan (Ivory Coast), Ademola Lookman (Nigeria), Mostafa Mohamed (Egypt).